So Fill Up Your Lungs And Just Run

Take a line from a song that you love or connect with. Now forget the song, and turn that line into the title or inspiration for your post.

I had to try this “inspiration” thing.  It’s just as well that I got this because I absolutely love music. I’m going through a slight Sara Bareilles phase right now because I saw her in concert in December.  You may recognize the title of this blog; it’s from her song Chasing the Sun.  I may as well tell you now, I ABSOLUTELY ADORE this song.  I know I was supposed to “forget the song,” but hey you have to break the rules sometimes right? Okay, okay.  I’ll get back to the point..

If you’ve read my little blurb about “who I am,” you’ll see in it that I play volleyball at my college.  Well that’s all fine and dandy until I tell you about my ankle.  So here it goes.  Since I was eight, that’s fourth grade people, I’ve had a chronic sprain in my ankle.  Okay, it didn’t start out as a chronic sprain; it just started out as a regular one.  I just refused to ya know go to the doctor for it.  Let’s just say that due to my stubbornness, it got to a point where I sprained it every time I played sports (AKA every day).  Then my freshman year at college (playing volleyball), I came down on my teammate’s foot.  When I tried to get back up (now pay attention, this is where it gets fun), I couldn’t stand.  I just kept falling back to the ground.  So, it was crutches for me.  They made me go to the doctor who basically told me that at that point, after ten years of spraining it, my ankle was fifty shades of fucked up.  I had figured that part out on my own; I endured pain shooting up my leg from my ankle for the majority of my career as an athlete.  It didn’t phase me much.  On the other hand, the doctor was phased.  He told me that I had two choices: get surgery or never play volleyball again.  You can guess which one I chose.

I chose the surgery people, come on.  Well they cut open my ankle to do some ligament reconstruction (tighten the ligaments) and SURPRISE! There are no ligaments; they had completely torn off the bone.  So, I wake up and rather than having a tightened ligament, I have a titanium ligament.  Oh how exciting.  I get to set off all the airport security alarms.

I know by this point you’re asking yourself “what does this have to do with a Sara Bareilles song and running?”  To be completely honest, the only relation it has is because of the surgery running has been really hard and it’s SO painful, so I try to avoid it.  But listening to the song makes me want to run SO BADLY and it’s awful: wanting to run, but not wanting to deal with the pain.

Oh, if you want to imagine what having a chronic sprain for ten years is like, I ask you this: have you ever sprained your ankle?  If you haven’t, have you sprained anything (ankle works best, but other body parts will work)?  If you haven’t GO PLAY A SPORT!  Anyway, imagine spraining your ankle (or whatever it is you’ve sprained), then spraining it the next day, and the next, and the next.  Each sprain building on top of the next, never truly healing your injury because well you have about fifty sprains piled on top of each other, so how do you make it heal?  Good luck.  Now imagine spraining it day after day for so long that it gets to a point that rather than the ligament stretching any more, it simply detaches from the bone.  Now if you can imagine this, you’ve gained some insight into my ankle.  Welcome to my life.

xo

Leave a comment